Adding to my inspiration wire

My art studio is a very inspiring place. As an artist, the place where I create can be a haven. I love to make it even more inspiring by surrounding myself with other artists’ creations.

I have an “inspiration wire” in my studio that houses much of the (2D) artwork that I love to look at on a daily basis. It reminds me I am part of a community of artists who share a love of creating.

I blogged about this concept earlier, and it’s a tip I picked up from “The Handmade Marketplace” by Kari Chapin. Recently, I have been adding items to my inspiration wire, and a few to my shelves and home (when they can’t be clipped onto a wire). I wanted to share them with you, and pass around the inspiration.

Recently, I created postcards for an annual art exchange hosted by the Alberta Printmakers’ Society in Calgary.  Artists provided 10 postcards each, and a self-addressed stamped envelope. The postcards were on display in Calgary, Alberta from April 18-21, 2012, then a variety of 8 cards were returned to each artist who participated. It was a great way to get some new art in the studio. Although all cards I received were lovely, here are two postcards from the exchange I particularly liked:

A postcard from the exchange by Danielle Folkerts (www.facebook.com/DFolkertsArtStudio).

A postcard from the exchange by Danielle Folkerts (www.facebook.com/DFolkertsArtStudio).

A beautiful etching by Carrie Phillips Kieser

A lovely etched postcard by Carrie Phillips Kieser. (www.carriephillipskieser.com)

Other items have come to me in my travels, through art shops, purchased at artist open houses or even on an artist studio visit. Here are some special gems I have picked up along the way:

Handmade mini artist book by Dea Fischer.

Handmade mini artist book by Dea Fischer (http://thestarbook.wordpress.com). Beautiful textured pages, a lovely cloth cover and hand-stitched binding. The penny shows its size!

Close up of the handmade mini artist book by Dea Fischer. The inside is a beautiful marbled paper.

Close up of the handmade mini artist book by Dea Fischer. The inside is a beautiful marbled paper.

A beautiful etching by Carrie Phillips Kieser.

A beautiful etching by Carrie Phillips Kieser (www.carriephillipskieser.com). She was my instructor at an etching  course I took recently in Calgary (I had to have it!).

Screen printed postcard by Alberta printmaker, Alden Alfon (www.burnttoaststudio.com)

Screen printed postcard by Alberta printmaker, Alden Alfon. (www.burnttoaststudio.com)

Below are three postcards I picked up at a recent show in Canmore by a creative duo. These two not only write books and create art, they also collaborated recently on several wonderful artist books and collages together: Jocey Asnong (www.cautiousleroy.com) and Christine Thorpe.

"Somewhere" collage postcard by Jocey Asnong and Christine Thorpe.

“Somewhere” collage postcard by Jocey Asnong and Christine Thorpe.

"Spring" collage postcard by Jocey Asnong and Christine Thorpe.

“Spring” collage postcard by Jocey Asnong and Christine Thorpe.

"Fall" collage postcard by Jocey Asnong and Christine Thorpe.

“Fall” collage postcard by Jocey Asnong and Christine Thorpe.

Here are a few other pieces I have, just because I love them:

Flower vase by Nicole Tremblay with fresh spring tulips (www.nicoletremblayblownglass.ca).

Flower vase by Nicole Tremblay with fresh spring tulips. (www.facebook.com/NicoleTremblayBlownGlass)

A handmade card from my 80+-year-old pen pal.

A handmade card from my 80+-year-old pen pal. She sends me the most amazing art cards and handmade gifts.

4 responses to “Adding to my inspiration wire

  1. Pingback: New additions to my inspiration wire | Musings From The Studio·

  2. Pingback: Finding inspiration: a few of my favorite things | Musings From The Studio·

Leave a Comment

