The Sunshine Blogger Award

Sunshine-Blog-AwardThank you so much to Terri at Time to Be Inspired for bestowing the Sunshine Blogger Award on me! I appreciate her following my art journey, and also love to watch her create! Make sure you check out her blog for lots of inspiration in many areas of her life!

The Sunshine Blogger award is for “bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere”.

As a winner, here are the rules to follow:

  • Link the award to the person(s) who gave it to you
  • Answer the questions (below) that are included with the nomination
  • Pass the award along to 10 other bloggers who inspire you and let them know they have received it

Here are the questions and my answers:

Favorite animal: Birds of all kinds, but especially the magpie for its cheeky nature, intelligence and beautiful coloring. Not all feel this way about this particular bird, as I OFTEN hear at my art shows!

Favorite drink: A glass of (chilled) Merlot. I once read Merlot is the the bacon of wine. I agree. I’m a definite bacon girl.

Facebook or Twitter: Facebook for the detail and the depth; Twitter for the speed and the worldwide connections. I really can’t decide between them; love them both for different reasons.

My Passion: My art practice and my family. Like any person with more than one passion, depending on the day, they both switch their ranking as my #1 favorite.

Favorite Pattern: The patterns found in Islamic Art — they are amazingly beautiful and intricate, and so inspiring to an artist who loves color and public displays of art.

Favorite Day of the Week: Saturday because it is full of possibility, and not obligation.

Favorite Flower: That is really hard to say because I love them all, but if I was pressed (pardon the pun), I would say the Western Wood Lily because it is so showy, but not always easy to find when it hides in our Western Canadian forests. I was introduced to this lovely flower as a girl when my grandmother grew a variety known as the oriental tiger lily in her beautiful backyard garden.

Here is my list of 10 bloggers who inspire me with their writings:

1. Cathryn Wellner’s This Gives Me Hope: I love this site for the many doses of upbeat storytelling it provides. In Cathryn’s words, “On the great balance scale of life, I have a hunch the good far outweighs the bad. It just gets less air time. So this site celebrates the beauty and inspiration that surround us.” A sentiment I also happen to share.

2. Cat Among The Pigeons: Not only do I love the name of this site (how all artists feel chasing every creative idea, I think), but Catherine Cronin is a wonderful artist whose interests and creativity are varied to say the least. Check in with this bookmaker, printmaker, mixed-media artist for lots of inspiration. Luscious!

3. Strictly Paper:  Jasmine Wilson and Daniel Scheibel are the curators of this site who highlight “the many creative uses of paper” through feature artists. I have always been a sucker for a beautiful piece of paper, and find this site whimsical, informative and so inspirational. The creative expression through paper is mind-boggling.

4. Dinner with Julie: Julie Van Rosendaal is an author, food stylist, journalist, radio and TV host (and more) who shares her passion for food. I bought and cooked from many recipes in her cookbook “Grazing” and the accolades from my preteen kids turned me into a devoted follower. (My 10-year-old once said her two-bite brownie recipe got him the best trades during a school lunch ever!) I love that she lives and works in the town I grew up in (Calgary), and her recipes speak for themselves.

5. It’s Not Easy To Be Green: Featuring postings by Jennifer from California, a self-proclaimed shy and “medium green” blogger, this is an informative and well-balanced look at the environmental issues facing our planet. There are also lots of green tips like how to make your own facial cleanser and moisturizer. Her no-nonsense and honest approach is refreshing and entertaining.

6. Draw And Shoot: Karen McRae is a photographer and artist with an amazing eye for beauty. Her photos will transport you to a quiet place, and her art and paintings beautifully capture the natural world.

7. Art Biz Blog: Alyson B Stanfield shares her coaching wisdom on her blog/website subtitled “for the business of being an artist”. It is a lovely resource for artists with a lot of wonderful advice, interactive questions each week, and links to great information.

8. Julie Fei-Fan Balzer: If you love to create in color, you will love this visually rich blog and site by a creative mixed-media artist. Be sure to check out her right-hand toolbar for quick links to tutorials on art journaling, book recommendations and more.

9. Artealinstante: Although this site is written in Spanish, with the wonders of google translator you can have some fun touring the art museums and other cultural stops around Madrid, Spain. Also includes general articles about art that make it a fun read for us armchair travelers!

10. Mark Bittman (The Article Archives): So, not technically a “blog” but this excellent NY Times food writer and author of many cookbooks is definitely worth checking out. If you wonder about the recent debates about food and our planet, I find Mark’s take on the issues to be balanced and informative. His cookbooks and recipes are awesome, too.

I hope you enjoy exploring the blogs I have highlighted as much as I have.

Happy reading!

6 responses to “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Linda, thanks for including me on this list, I appreciate your thoughtfulness. I’m looking forward to checking out some of these other blogs and more of your work.
    Cheers, Karen

  2. Wow – what an eclectic and intriguing list of blogs. I’m really honoured to be included. Thanks, Linda! And thank you for your glorious prints. You enrich my world.

    • Thank YOU so much Cathryn for your very inspiring blog! You make me giggle about the eclectic nature of the list. So much in life Is delightful, I find I want to know about it all! And, I appreciate your comment about my prints. That is high praise for any artist! My humble thanks.

  3. Congratulations on your award which is very well deserved. I find your blog interesting, inspirational, entertaining and educating. You have a real knack of writing with a ‘personal voice’ – I feel when I am reading that you are just addressing me! Thank you for including my blog in your recommendations, I am honoured; I am off now to check out the other gems you have listed.

Leave a Comment

