One great writer leads to another

I have long been a fan of Katherine Govier, a writer who shares great stories and creates characters you’d love to meet “in real life”. I happily came across her newest novel on Twitter by the name it was published under in the US: The Printmaker’s Daughter. (In Canada, it’s published as The Ghost Brush.)

The Ghost Brush by Katherine GovierAs a printmaker, I was intrigued. As a fan of Govier, I knew I had to get the book. It tells the story of Oei, the daughter of the famous Japanese printmaker, Hokusai, who created the stunning woodblock print “The Great Wave“.

A book review of  The Ghost Brush has been on my list of things to get to on this blog. But, then I came across Janie Chang who very skillfully beat me to it. With Janie’s permission I am sharing her review. She has reviewed this book so beautifully, I couldn’t have topped it. The beginning of her review is linked below – click on the link under the excerpt for more.

The Ghost Brush by Katherine Govier Posted by Janie Chang on Oct 22, 2012

The Big Wave, by the 19th century artist Hokusai, is perhaps the single most recognized Japanese work of art. The artist Hokusai was prolific and never satisfied with his work. He evolved his style continuously and painted until the end of his long life. Or did he? Govier’s book points to Oei, Hokusai’s unconventional daughter, as the real artist behind the masterpieces produced during the final years of her father’s life.

The Ghost Brush is the story of a woman lost to history, from an era and society when women were not allowed to claim a career or identity for themselves. Oei is unforgettable, driven to paint by her own talent, exasperated by her father’s eccentricity, bound to him by grudging admiration and love.

via Janie’s Blog :: The Ghost Brush by Katherine Govier.

Janie Chang’s blog & website is definitely worth a read in itself.

Chang is a writer living in Vancouver, British Columbia, and she is a self-professed lover of “historical fiction, science fiction, and the occasional literary novel”.  Her blog includes:

  • book reviews (“Normally I get through a book a week. I read the way some people eat potato chips, by the handful.”);
  • heart-warming family stories (“My hope is that these stories encourage you to write about your own family’s history.”);
  • author interviews with the writers of books she reviews; and
  • the story of her quest to get her own historical novel published

In finding one writer, I’ve been lucky enough to find a second, delightful writer. And, as I certainly have more Katherine Govier novels in my future, I will also watch Janie Chang’s journey and cheer from the sidelines when her novel is published as well.

10 responses to “One great writer leads to another

    • You bet! “The Ghost Brush” is certainly a wonderful read where both of those subjects (art & history) come together. Another great one of Katherine’s is “Creation” about the naturalist and painter John James Audubon. Happy to share two of my favorite subjects as well!

      • Thanks again. I’ll be ordering “Creation” now too.
        By the way I was in Banff today, and while at the Whyte museum my friends and I were admiring your landscape prints. Your two colour (or three) are stunning.

      • Aw, thanks so much! I really enjoy the challenge of working with color in printmaking. And, the Banff Whyte Museum is a great place to have my art displayed!

  1. Pingback: Ten great fiction books about artists | Musings From The Studio·

  2. This book sounds terribly interesting. I am curious enough to put in on my book to purchase list!! Thanks for bring it to our attention!!

  3. Pingback: The unexpected gift of social media | Musings From The Studio·

Leave a Comment

