Little Bird series shares my love of birds

I have a real soft spot for birds. My artwork often depicts these lovely creatures.

LINDA COTE-RobinI remember being fascinated with birds from a very young age — from the wee little robins that built their first nests in our weeping birch out front of my childhood home, to the jays we would so often see when visiting the Rocky Mountains in Alberta.

One of my favorite quotes about birds is from a Canadian novelist and visual artist, Doug Coupland:

“Birds are a miracle because they prove to us there is a finer, simpler state of being which we may strive to attain.”

This is what is behind my series of hand-printed limited edition art prints “Little Birds”. With simple relief prints in black and white, I am trying to capture that special miracle that are the jays, the magpies, the sparrows.

Although there are so many more bird portraits I wish to do, today I will share those I have completed to date in my bird series, in honor of these wonderful winged creatures that teach us to look to the sky. (prints updated Sept. 2015)

linda-cote-little-chickadee

“Little Chickadee” Linocut Print: 6″ h x 8″ w

LINDA COTE-Little Nuthatch

The final print: LITTLE NUTHATCH 7.5″ h x 5.5″ w

LINDA COTE-Little Starling

“Little Starling” 5.5″ x 7.5″ Hand-Pulled Limited Edition Art Print

LINDA COTE-Little Robin

“Little Robin” 5.75″ x 7.75″ Hand-pulled Limited Edition Art Print

LINDA COTE-Little Mallard

“Little Mallard” 5.5″ x 7.5″ Hand-pulled Limited Edition Art Print

LINDA COTE-Little Burrowing Owls

“Little Burrowing Owls” 5.5″ x 7.5″ Hand-pulled Limited Edition Art Print

LINDA COTE-Little Grey Jay

“Little Grey Jay” 5.5″ x 7.5″ Hand-Pulled Limited Edition Art Print

LINDA COTE-Little-Magpie

“Little Magpie” 5″ x 7.5″ Hand-Pulled Limited Edition Art Print

LINDA COTE Little Sparrow

“Little Sparrow” 5.5″ X 7.5″ Hand-Pulled Limited Edition Art Print SOLD OUT

For another blog on my favorite birds “My love of crows..”.

For more artwork, and lots more bird art, please visit my printmaking website!

7 responses to “Little Bird series shares my love of birds

  1. Pingback: Burrowing owls inspire print | Musings From The Studio·

  2. Pingback: Just ducky: honoring the humble mallard | Musings From The Studio·

  3. Pingback: Little robin: what a saucy fellow | Musings From The Studio·

  4. Pingback: The return of spring & blue jays | Musings From The Studio·

  5. Pingback: Portrait of an acrobatic nuthatch | Musings From The Studio·

Leave a Comment

