The perfect tree comes home

One of my fondest memories as a child was going into the “tree reserve” where the province’s forestry department would allow people to harvest trees for Christmas.

As a family, we were always hikers and picnickers who spent a lot of time outdoors in the foothills of the Canadian Rockies. But, there was something magical about going out in the dead of winter and making a day of it, and coming home with that perfect tree for the Christmas season tied to the top of our station wagon.

LINDA COTE-building the tree

My son helps supervise the building of the fake “broom handle” tree.

I outgrew the get-your-own-tree tradition as I got my own home, and seemed to be too busy to go outside the city to get a Christmas tree.  But, the tree tradition slowly returned to the house, although not in its original form.

Our family went through various tree incarnations: decorating our house plants (our anti-tradition stage), fake trees (our conservation stage), a silver tree of my Grandma’s that changed color with a rotating light (our retro stage), and finally a do-it-yourself tree where you plugged branches into a broom handle (our frugal stage). But, through the years, I have to admit to always missing the smell and look of a real tree in the house at Christmas.

LINDA COTE-Tree Hunting

My mom and dad supervise as my 10-year-old son (same one as in the last photo) examines the best way to cut the tree trunk.

When we moved to the Rockies, and had pre-teen boys, we decided it was time to reintroduce the tradition of working for a real tree. We discovered lots of people around here buy a tree permit and go out to the designated area to bring home a Christmas tree. Last year, we took my parents along with my two small boys. It was fun to come full circle and watch my dad become the authority again on that perfect way to swing the axe, and argue with the boys about which tree was the best. And, of course, my mom lived up to her tradition of bringing hot chocolate and cookies like she did when we were kids.

After much debate, we did find the perfect tree. My youngest son offered to drag it home on his sled. Luckily, the weather was quite mild, and the snow was not that deep, so a 7-year-old could do this task without too much difficulty.

LINDA COTE-Tree Hunting

This day brought such fond memories, I wanted to capture the spirit of this special moment in a print for this year’s Christmas season. So, I got to work this snowy weekend in my studio, first sketching the idea on tracing paper.

LINDA COTE-Tree sketch

I transferred the sketch onto the block (I am trying a new Speedball Speedy-Cut printmaking product that is blue!) and got right to work carving the image.

LINDA COTE-Block sketch

Here is the block partially cut. I want the boy in the foreground to stand out from the background of snow, much like the original photograph. I have simplified the forest behind so the background won’t be too distracting.

LINDA COTE-Block carvingBelow are the next progressions of the block, scanned so you can watch the progress as I carve.

LINDA COTE-Block carving1

LINDA COTE-Block carving2

LINDA COTE-Block carving3

Now, I am ready to take the block to my table, and begin printing the image. I begin with inking the block.

LINDA COTE-Block inking

Below is the block, fully inked, ready for the paper, but first I make a couple of minor adjustments to the block. I often make changes on the inked block because at this stage I get to see what my carving has created. The changes are pretty subtle, but they are little things that really improve the print.

LINDA COTE-inked Bloc

Once printed, the prints hang to dry on my studio clothesline. I keep going until the edition is done, and it’s a nice feeling seeing all those prints lined up together.

LINDA COTE-Tree print drying

And, here is the final limited edition art print: “The Perfect Tree“; Size 3.5″ high x 8.25” wide, an edition of 36 prints. (Click the image to view bigger.)LINDA COTE-The Perfect TreeI can smell the fresh pine, and feel the crunchy snow beneath our feet. It’s a tradition that I hope we will repeat again this year.

16 responses to “The perfect tree comes home

  1. Really love this Linda! Also enjoy seeing the process very much. Need to pick your brains on materials at some point if you don’t mind!

  2. Real work of art. It looks fabulous. Reading your article about tree picking with your family left me sentimental and made me realize I want to do the same this year. You may keep on going with a tradition and I´m going to start a new one.

    • Thanks so much for this, Julie! I am so glad this blog post inspired you. We’ve really enjoyed this tradition again, and my boys take real ownership of the tree. It’s a great day out! Enjoy your day, too! And, thanks for reading.

  3. This is fantastic Linda. Great print and thank you for sharing how it came about. I’m now going to look through old snowy images of my kids which will inspire a new lino i’m sure! 🙂

    • Thanks, Sue! I look forward to seeing your creation! I sometimes have to fight being sentimental with kids + art, but some things I just give into. Haha. For this one, I am glad I did! It’s pretty universal!

  4. I love the image and the nostalgia that goes along with it. It about being together, having an adventure, and making the kind of memories that last forever and bring with them a smile and in this came the smell of pine on a cool winter day. Love it totally..the art and the story!!

  5. Hi Linda – Enjoyed watching the progression of making the block. I had forgotten that we used to do that as kids – not nearly so professional of course. Love your Christmas card series as well. Leaving for CA soon so don’t get to do the Calgary and area Christmas art events. Merry Christmas to you, Kieran and your family.

    • Hi Wendy! Thanks for stopping by the blog! Yes, a lot of people tell me that they’ve tried lino printing in school. It’s a great way to create. Enjoy CA! Jealous — pretty snowy here, as you know. Hugs those grandbabies, and I will pass along your greetings to all here. Take care!

  6. Pingback: Pond Hockey in Canadian Winter | Musings From The Studio·

  7. Pingback: A day out skiing in the Canadian Rockies | Musings From The Studio·

Leave a Comment

